Jeff Mills and Rafael Leafar collaborate on new album, The Override Switch





“Improvisational electronic jazz the way only Detroit can produce.”

Jeff Mills and multi-instrumentalist Rafael Leafar are releasing a new collaborative album, titled The Override Switch, via Mills’ own Axis Records imprint this October.

Read more: Jeff Mills on how Sci-fi can take club music to new realms

Aiming to adopt the boundary-pushing approach of artists like John Coltrane, J Dilla, and Kraftwerk, Mills and Leafar crafted an album of “improvisational electronic jazz in the way only Detroit can produce,” as Mills explains.

The Override Switch reflects on the precise moment people decide in their minds that the only way to improve a situation is to act – to change the scenario and deal with the consequences as they develop to work for a better outcome.”

It follows Mills’ contributions to Tresor’s 30th anniversary compilation Tresor 30, which will be released this October.

Pre-order The Override Switch here in advance of its 15th October release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Side A

1. Homage
2. The River Runs Five Ways

Side B

1. Infinite Voyage
2. Crashing
3. Soul Filter Buffet

Side C

1. The Sun King

Side D

1. Soul Filter (The Dancer)
2. Trigger Happy (With Safety Off)

Photo c/o Axis Records.