Impulse! Records unveils 60th anniversary box set





Featuring John Coltrane, Yusef Lateef, Pharoah Sanders, Alice Coltrane, and more.

Impulse! Records is releasing a new 60th anniversary box set — titled Impulse Records: Music, Message and the Moment Box Set – this May.

Read more: A visual history of Impulse! Records

Launched in 1961, Impulse Records quickly grew to become on of jazz’ most important labels, “pulling jazz into the age of Black Power, Afrocentricity, and Spiritual Expansion.”

Celebrating the label’s 60th anniversary, Music, Message and the Moment features music by John Coltrane, Pharoah Sanders, Max Roach, Marion Brown, Alice Coltrane, Yusef Lateef, and more.

Pre-order Impulse Records: Music, Message and the Moment here in advance of its 21st May release, check out the box set and tracklist below.


Side A

1. The John Coltrane Quartet — Africa

Side B

1. Max Roach — Garvey’s Ghost
2. Quincy Jones and his Orchestra — Hard Sock Dance
3. John Coltrane — Up ‘Gainst the Wall
4. Elvin Jones/Jimmy Garrison Sextet — Just Us Blues

Side C

1. John Coltrane — Alabama
2. Charles Mingus — Better Get Hit in Yo’ Soul
3. Shirley Scott Trio — Freedom Dance
4. Yusef Lateef — Sister Mamie

Side D

1. Archie Shepp — Malcolm, Malcolm—Semper Malcolm
2. Stanley Turrentine — Good Lookin’ Out
3. Earl Hines — Black and Tan Fantasy
4. Oliver Nelson — The Rights of All

Side E

1. Pharoah Sanders — The Creator Has a Master Plan (edit)
2. John Coltrane & Alice Coltrane — Reverend King

Side F

1. The Ahmad Jamal Trio — The Awakening
2. Albert Ayler — Music Is the Healing Force of the Universe
3. Charlie Haden — We Shall Overcome

Side G

1. Alice Coltrane — Blue Nile
2. Pharoah Sanders — Astral Traveling
3. Archie Shepp — Blues for Brother George Jackson
4. Michael White — Lament (Mankind)

Side H

1. Dewey Redman — Imani
2. Marion Brown — Bismillahi ‘Rrahmani ‘Rrahim
3. John Handy — Hard Work

Photo by: Francis Wolff