Hüsker Dü to release live rarities album, Tonite Longhorn





A companion piece to the band’s Savage Young Du boxset.

Hüsker Dü will release an album of rare live recordings on Record Store Day (April 22) via Reflex Records.

Tonite Longhorn features 28 tracks recorded across four shows at the Longhorn in Minneapolis. The performances took place between 1979 and 1980.

Hear a preview track, a performance of “Do You Remember?” from 1989, below.

“Most artists begin their careers by looking to their heroes for inspiration. Tonite Longhorn is a comprehensive overview of three teenagers paying homage, experimenting with different genres, and—most importantly—building a foundation for things to come,” says Hüsker Dü’s Bob Mould in a press statement. “We knew what we had: good chemistry, great melodies and harmonies, and an overabundance of young (and sometimes dumb) enthusiasm. We knew we were different, and we knew we were on to something different.”

Tonite Longhorn will be available as a double LP release featuring liner notes from Thurston Moore.


Side A – July 6. 1979 20:56

1. Insects Rule The World
2. I’m Not Interested
3. Sex Dolls
4. Can’t See You Anymore
5. Sexual Economics
6. Do You Remember?
7. Nuclear Nightmare

Side B – July 16 1980 Tiger Night 22:17

1. All Tensed Up
2. Strange Week
3. Don’t Try To Call
4. Industrial Grocery Store
5. Do The Bee
6. Do You Remember?
7. Ode To Bode
8. Don’t Have A Life

Side C – Sept 25 1980 Homerock 20:40

1. All I’ve Got To Lose
2. Don’t Try It
3. Writer’s Cramp
4. Gilligan’s Island
5. What Went Wrong?
6. Uncle Ron
7. MTC
8. Drug Party

Side D – Sept 25, 1980 Homerock 22:15

1. Chinese Rock
2. Termination
3. Call On Me
4. Gravity
5. Statues