Grouper’s Ruins album reissued





Haunting sonics crafted with just a portable 4-track, stereo mic and a piano.

Grouper’s Ruins album has been reissued on vinyl, via Kranky.

Grouper primarily recorded the album in 2011 during a residency in Aljezur, Portugal, using just a portable 4-track, Sony stereo mic and a piano.

“The album is a document. … Failed structures. Living in the remains of love. I left the songs the way they came…”

Ruins’ reissue follows the release of her Shade album — one of our favourite records of 2021.

Purchase a copy of Ruins here; check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Made of Metal
2. Clearing
3. Call Across Rooms
4. Labyrinth
5. Lighthouse
6. Holofernes
7. Holding
8. Made of Air

Photo by: Stephan C. Kaffa