Fiona Apple performs live in NYC during 1999



With songs from her first and second albums.

Ahead of the release of Fiona Apple’s second LP When The Pawn… during 1999, she performed live at Sony Music Studios in New York City for MTV’s Spankin’ New Music Week Live series.

Read next: Fiona Apple releases new album Fetch The Bolt Cutters on vinyl

With Apple on both piano and vocals, the 40-minute performance includes now iconic tracks ‘Criminal’, ‘Sleep To Dream’ and ‘Limp’.

When The Pawn… was released shortly after her MTV appearance, and continued to build on the personal terrain Apple explored in her 1996 debut album Tidal.

Apple recently released her first new album in eight years, called Fetch The Bolt Cutters.

Watch the performance in full above and check out the setlist below.


1. On The Bound
2. To Your Love
3. Limp
4. Sleep To Dream
5. Criminal
6. Fast As You Can
7. Paper Bag
8. Get Gone
9. I Know