Listen to every song Jay-Z sampled on his new album 4:44





Magna Carter sample grail.

The rapper’s latest album, produced entirely by No I.D., features 18 samples, according to a new Genius video. These range from the classic – Stevie Wonder, Nina Simone, dancehall legend Sister Nancy – to the obscure – a recording of Joseph N. Welch’s 1954 testimony during the McCarthy Communist witch hunt hearings, plus an obligatory nod to his wife Beyoncé.

Read next: A 30-minute workshop on the history of sampling

Check out the 4:44 tracklist and samples below, and listen to our Spotify playlist, so good they deserve to be released on a compilation album of their own.

1. Kill Jay-Z
‘Don’t let it show’, The Alan Parsons project 1977

2. The Story of O.J.
‘Four Women’, Nina Simone 1966; ‘Kool is Back’, Funk Inc 1971; ‘Kool Back again’, Kool and the gang 1969

3. Smile feat. Gloria Carter
‘Love’s in Need of Love Today’, Stevie Wonder 1976

4. Caught Their Eyes feat. Frank Ocean
‘Baltimore’, Nina Simone 1978; ‘Army-McCarthy Hearings’, Joseph N. Welch 1954

5. 4:44
‘Late Nights and Heartbreak’, Hannah Williams & The Affirmations 2016

6. Family Feud feat. Beyoncé
‘Ha Ya’, The Clark Sisters 1980

7. Bam feat. Damian Marley
‘Bam Bam’, Sister Nancy 1982; ‘Temenet Yard’, Jacob Miller 1976

8. Moonlight
‘Fu-Gee-La’, The Fugees 1995

9. Marcy Me
‘Todo O Mundo E Ninguém’, Quarteto 1111; ‘Unbelievable’, The Notorious B.I.G.

10. Legacy
‘Someday We’ll All Be Free,’ Donny Hathaway 1973; ‘Glaciers of Ice,’ Raekwon 1995

11. Blue’s Freestyle/We Family
‘La Verdolaga,’ Totó La Momposina y Sus Tambores 1984

12. MaNyyfaCedGod Feat. James Blake
‘Pillow Talk,’ Sylvia, 1973; ‘Partition,’ Beyonce 2013