Erykah Badu performs live on Planet Groove during 1997






Just days before the release of Erykah Badu’s debut album Baduizm, the 25-year-old musician performed live on Planet Groove during 1997.

Listen next: VF Mix 82 – Erykah Badu by Jeb Loy Nichols

Promoting her forthcoming album, Badu performed an 8-track set including ‘On and On’, ‘Next Lifetime’ and ‘Rimshot’.

Speaking on the album’s title, Badu explained, “It’s an expression of me and the way I feel. Badu is my last name, ‘izm’ is what should get you high and Baduizm is the thing that gets me high.”

With Baduizm released shortly after the performance to great critical and commercial acclaim, Badu was soon established as a pivotal neo-soul force.

Watch the performance in full above, and check out the set list below.

Set list:

1. Rimshot
2. The Other Side of the Game
3. Apple Tree
4. Ye Yo/Sometimes
5. Stay (Chaka Kahn cover)
6. Certainly
7. On and On
8. Next Lifetime