Jazz multi-instrumentalist Emma-Jean Thackray announces new 12″, Too Shy





Featuring Makaya McCraven, Theon Cross, Joe Armon-Jones and Soweto Kinch.

Emma-Jean Thackray is releasing a new 12″, titled Too Shy, this November via International Anthem  and Total Refreshment Centre.

Read more: Crate Diggers: Emma-Jean Thackray

Too Shy features Thackray’s track ‘Too Shy’, which was first released and reworked as part of Makaya McCraven’s 2018 mixtape Where We Come From.

The new release presents ‘Too Shy’ in its full length, alongside Gilles Peterson’s re-working of Makaya McCraven’s ‘Run ‘Dem’ on the B side.

Too Shy follows Thackray’s 2018 EP Ley Lines, released via The Vinyl Factory, which saw Thackray drawing inspiration from producers like Madlib and the avant-garde performances of Art Ensemble of Chicago.

Head here for more info in advance of its 15th of November release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Emma-Jean Thackray – Too Shy (12″ version)
2. Makaya McCraven – Run ‘Dem (Gilles Peterson edit)