Moroccan gnawa rhythms meet Mbalax percussion on Electric Jalaba’s new LP



Infusing the trance-like rhythms with cosmic synthesizers and dub elements.

Electric Jalaba are releasing their third album, titled El Hal / The Feeling, via Strut this March.

El Hal / The Feeling was improvised in their south London studio, with the band layering traditional gnaway rhythms with spaced-out synthesizers, mbalax dance percussion, and dub elements.

Electric Jalaba features gnawa player Simo Lagnawi, drummer Dave De Rose, producer / bassist Olly Keen, producer / player Henry Keen, multi-instrumentalist Nathaniel Keen, and singer / multi-instrumentalist Barnaby Keen.

It marks Electric Jalaba’s third album, following the release of Merhaba in 2015.

Pre-order El Hal / The Feeling here in advance of its 19th March release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Tora Tora
2. Cubaili Ba
3. Agia Hausa
4. Daimla
5. Fulan
6. Shabakru
7. Briando
8. Tugra
9. Hindewu
10. Lagmami