Afrobeat and highlife legend Ebo Taylor announces new album





All funk, no filler.

Ghanian musician Ebo Taylor is releasing his first LP in five years, Yen Ara, via Mr Bongo this April.

Read next: Inside Mr Bongo’s new beach-side record sanctuary

The album, which sees the 82-year-old assuming composer, arranger, guitarist and vocalist duties, is a follow-up to his 2012 Appia Kwa Bridge album, and Mr Bongo’s 2017 reissue of Ebo Taylor and the Pelikans.

Yen Ara features Taylor’s group, the Saltpond City band, recorded live at Electric Monkey Studios in Amsterdam.

Pre-order a copy of Yen Ara here ahead of its 6th April release, and check out the track list below.


Side A

A1. Poverty No Good
A2. Mumudey Mumudey
A3. Krumandey
A4. Aboa Kyirbin
A5. Yen Ara

Side B

B1. Mind Your Own Business
B2. Ankoma’m
B3. Abenkwan Puchaa
B4. Aba Yaa