Dr. Lonnie Smith’s Blue Note album Breathe gets vinyl release





Featuring collaborations with Iggy Pop.

Legendary organist Dr. Lonnie Smith’s Breathe LP is being released on vinyl, via Blue Note this December.

Read more: Blue Note changed my life

The record was primarily captured live during Smith’s 2017 performance at NYC’s Jazz Standard. Smith was joined by Jonathan Kreisberg on guitar, Johnathan Blake on drums, John Ellis on tenor sax, Jason Marshall on baritone sax, Sean Jones on trumpet, Robin Euban on trombone, and Alicia Olatuja providing guest vocals.

Breathe also includes Smith’s collaborative work with Iggy Pop.

Released digitally in March, the album is now making its vinyl debut.

Pre-order Breathe here in advance of its 3rd December release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Why Can’t We Live Together featuring Iggy Pop
2. Bright Eyes (Live)
3. Too Damn Hot (Live)
4. Track 9 (Live)
5. World Weeps (Live)
6. Pilgrimage (Live)
7. Epistrophy (Live)
8. Sunshine Superman featuring Iggy Pop
9. Move Your Hand featuring Iggy Pop

Photo by: Mark Sheldon