Dave Okumu mixes hip-hop and jazz on new album, Knopperz





Paying homage to J Dilla’s Donuts.

Dave Okumu is releasing his debut solo album, Knopperz, via Transgressive this September.

Read more: Dave Okumu, Tom Herbert and Tom Skinner release Undone: Live At the Crypt album

The wholly instrumental album brings together elements of hip-hop, jazz, and experimental electronic music.

It acts as a homage to J Dilla’s seminal Donuts LP, as well as taking elements from Duval Timothy’s Sen Am album.

Knopperz follows Okumu’s Undone: Live At the Crypt album with Tom Herbert and Tom Skinner, released on The Vinyl Factory.

Pre-order Knopperz here in advance of its 24th September release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Intro
2. Son of Emmerson
3. Ballpark
4. Trouble
5. New Dawn
6. Brother
7. Reprise
8. RTN
9. Don’t Die