Early dancehall productions from Bunny Lee collected on 2xLP





With previously unreleased cuts and rarities alongside classics from the late seventies to mid-eighties.

Pressure Sounds Records is releasing a new double vinyl compilation called RUB A DUB REVOLUTION: Early Dancehall Productions from Bunny Lee this October.

Read more: Pressing Matters in Jamaica – a film about the island’s forgotten record industry

The 2xLP release features the work of iconic Jamaican producer Bunny “Striker” Lee,

Its 18-tracks span from rarities like the Paragons’ obscure ‘Place Called Zion’, classic tunes such as Don Carlos’ ‘Pass Me The Lazer Beam’, and extended 12” mixes featuring DJ verses by Papa Tullo, Purpleman and Simple Simon.

RUB A DUB REVOLUTION: Early Dancehall Productions from Bunny Lee also includes comprehensive track notes by Diggory Kenrick as well as an extended interview with Bunny Lee.

Head here for more info in advance of its 5th October release and check out the tracklist below.


LP 1

Side A

1. The Paragons – Know Yourself Mankind
2. Don Carlos & Papa Tullo – Lazer Beam (Nuff Stylee) extended
3. Johnny Clarke – I Man Come Again
4. Papa Tullo – Every Half Is A Fraction
Side B

1. Cornell Campbell & Scientist – Bandulo extended
2. Neville Brown & John Wayne – The Right Time (Boogie Down) extended
3. The Paragons – A Place Called Zion
4. Pappa Tullo – Part Two
LP 2

Side C

1. Simple Simon – Revolution Fighters
2. Trevor Castell – Too Popular (previously unreleased)
3. Cornell Campbell – Exterminator (previously unreleased)
4. Simple Simon – George William Gordon (previously unreleased)
5. Devon Edwards – Babylon No Badda Haul And Pull Me (previously unreleased)

Side D

1. Cornell Campbell + Errol Scorcher – People Cruel extended
2. Devon Edwards – Lay Down Flat
3. Professor – Lay Down Flat Version
4. Frankie Jones – Gun Fever
5. Donovan Phillips – Gun Fever Version