Soundwalk Collective’s soundtrack for Nan Goldin documentary All the Beauty and the Bloodshed set for vinyl





Nan Goldin also features on the soundtrack.

The soundtrack to Laura Poitras’ Oscar-nominated film All the Beauty and the Bloodshed is set for vinyl on March 26.

Read more: Nan Goldin collaborates with Soundwalk Collective for The Women’s March, 1789 exhibit soundtrack on limited vinyl

Centred around the life of artist and activist Nan Goldin, All the Beauty and the Bloodshed takes a look at Goldin’s fight to hold pharmaceutical giants, the Sackler family, accountable for the opioid crisis. It was nominated for Best Documentary Feature at the Academy Awards.

The soundtrack, created by multi-disciplinary duo Soundwalk Collective, features collaboration with Zacharias Falkenberg and Johannes Malfatti.

“Upon seeing the film we drew connections with the life and work of German poet Friedrich Hölderlin, who was removed from society through confinement in institutions. In his last poems, written as fragments while he was plagued by mental illness, Hölderlin renders nature, in all its fragility and ephemerality,” Soundwalk Collective explain.

“Similar themes merge in Laura’s portrait of Goldin and serve as an inspiration for the composition of the choral songs and cantus within the soundtrack. In “Sisters I”, we hear a choir singing words from Hölderlin’s ‘Des Geistes Werden…’, loosely translated as the becoming of the mind; as Nan’s voice speaks intimately of her sister.”

Hear “Sisters I” featuring Nan Goldin below.

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed will be available on regular black vinyl or as a limited art edition with a photo print by Nan Goldin.


1. Half Of Life
2. Schimmer Sanft Den Klang Des Tages
3. The Land And The Sea
4. Sisters I – feat. Nan Goldin
5. Des Geistes Werden
6. Before The Light
7. Witnesses
8. Zeitgeist
9. To Zimmer
10. Sisters II – feat. Nan Goldin