Akiko Yano’s cult 1977 album Iroha Ni Konpeitou released outside Japan for the first time



With cameos by Haruomi Hosono, Shigeri Suzuki, Tatsuo Hayashi, and YMO’s Hideki Matsutake.

Akiko Yano‘s 1977 studio album Iroha Ni Konpeitou is getting its first international vinyl release, this May via WEWANTSOUNDS.

Read more: A guide to the best Japanese reissues of 2018

Recorded in Tokyo and New York, the album mixes Japanese pop and NYC funk, and includes a cover shot by photographer Bishin Jumonji.

Its ten tracks include two Haruomi Hosono compositions: ‘Ai Ai Gasa’, which featured on his debut Hosono House, as well as ‘Hourou’.

Programmed by YMO’s Hideki Matsutake, Yano plays keyboards including Moog IIIc, Mini Moog, String Ensemble, on top of the Fender Rhodes, Clavinet and the Yamaha CP7C.

Iroha Ni Konpeitou has been remastered from the original tapes for this new edition, and follows Wewantsound‘s rerelease of Yano’s 1981 LP Tadaima – one of our favourite reissues of 2018.

Pre-order a copy here ahead of its 31st May release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


2. Iroha Ni Konpeitou
3. A Long Wait
4. Hourou
5. Ike Yanagida
6. Ai Ai Gasa
7. Potsun
8. Kinou Wa Mou
9. On The Way Home
10. East Wind

Latest Articles

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp