VF Mix 98: MF DOOM by Session Victim



Enter the super villain.

How do you introduce an artist who revels in shape-shifting aliases? As Nate Patrin wrote in our recent 10 best MF DOOM records feature: “Daniel Dumile’s had more names than other rappers have had albums. And with each of those names comes a different facet of his identity, both as a storyteller and a reflection of himself – a reflection obscured by one of the most famous masks in popular music.”

Not ones to duck a challenge, we left it to German duo Session Victim to carve a course through DOOM’s vast discography, picking out a selection of classics, cult cuts and “a few pieces that some people might not have heard before”.

As sampled-based producers themselves – their new album Listen To Your Heart on Delusions Of Grandeur has its roots in disco and funk grooves gleaned from the dollar bins of west coast record shops – the connection to DOOM has been clear for Hauke Freer and Matthias Reiling since the very beginning.

“We have both been following and collecting his music for a long time now,” they tell VF. “His approach to rap, hip-hop or music in general has always been on the one hand very classic and on the other outside the box, which we feel is as exciting as it is inspiring.”

Listen to the mix and scroll down for the tracklist below:


1. MF Doom – I hear voices part 2 (intro)
2. MF Doom – All Outta Ale
3. MF Doom – Hey!
4. Molemen /w MF Doom – Put Your Quarter Up
5. Jake One /w MF Doom – Trap Door
6. Viktor Vaughn – Dead Mouse
7. MF Doom – Vomitspit (Clutchy Hopkins Remix)
8. Doom – Gazillionaire
9. Czarface /w MF Doom – Ka-Bang!
10. DJ Babu /w MF Doom – The Unexpected
11. Danger Doom – No Names
12. MF Doom – Doomsday (Remix)
13. King Geehdorah /w Mr Fantastik – Anti- Matter
14. MF Doom – My Favourite Ladies (The Hatch Mix)

Session Victim’s Listen To Your Heart is out now on triple vinyl.

Latest Articles

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp