Music For Percussion

In stock


Ryoji Ikeda

Music For Percussion

£ 20.00

In stock

* Concept and composition by Ryoji Ikeda
* Co-produced by Eklekto Geneva Percussion Center, Ryoji Ikeda Studio and La Bâtie Festival de Genève.
* Percussionists (Eklekto): Alexandre Babel, Stéphane Garin, Lucas Genas and Dorian Fretto
* Edition of 1000
* Released: 12/10/2017

Ryoji Ikeda
Japan’s leading electronic composer and visual artist Ryoji Ikeda focuses on the essential characteristics of sound itself and that of visuals as light by means of both mathematical precision and mathematical aesthetics. Ikeda has gained a reputation as one of the few international artists working convincingly across both visual and sonic media. He elaborately orchestrates sound, visuals, materials, physical phenomena and mathematical notions into immersive live performances and installations.

Eklekto is a contemporary percussion collective founded in 1974 in Geneva. Constantly seeking to reinvent percussion music, the group collaborates with living composers and contemporary artists through concerts, multimedia projects and artistic events that question the listener’s expectations towards new musical forms. Eklekto has premiered over 100 new works and performed hundreds of internationally acclaimed shows.


Side A:
Body Music [for duo], op.4 (2016):
1. I
2. II
3. III

Metal Music, op.5 (2016)
4.  I. triangles [for duo]
5. II crotales [for duo]

Side B:
Metal Music, op.5 (2016)
6. III. cymbals [for quartet]

* 1-4: recorded by Christian Prommer, 26-28 Feb 2017 at Red Bull Studio, Berlin.
* 5-6: recorded byJean Keraudren, 10 Sept 2016 at Theatre Pitoedd, Geneve, Switzerland.
* 1-6: mixed and mastered by Ryoji Ikeda, May – August 2017 at Ruoji Ikeda Studio, Paris & Kyoto.