The Visitors – Hand Signed Limited Edition

Out of stock



The Visitors – Hand Signed Limited Edition


£ 300.00

Out of stock

Sold out

* Soundtrack to the globally acclaimed video installation ‘The Visitors’
* Pressed on 180-gram heavyweight black vinyl
* Hand finished five panel 1200 micron duplexed record sleeve
* Large format multi-fold 150gsm silk art liner notes by Anne Carson
* Signed and hand-numbered by the artist
* Limited to only 50 copies

Following the acclaimed London premiere of Icelandic artist Ragnar Kjartansson’s video installation ‘The Visitors’, The Vinyl Factory and Bel-Air Glamour Records are proud to announce the release of the artwork’s soundtrack as a hand-signed edition.

Mirroring the multi-screen piece, the vinyl is housed in a stunning hand made five-panel duplexed sleeve. Showcasing the photographic stills of the band in situ at Rokeby Mansion, and including multi-fold liner notes by Canadian poet Anne Carson.

As with most of Ragnar Kjartansson’s performances and artworks, music and creative collaboration with his friends also play a crucial role in ‘The Visitors’. The work’s kernel is a text by the artist Ásdís Sif Gunnarsdóttir, which Kjartansson has assembled from performances of hers and written music to along with Davíð Þór Jónsson.
Several musicians and friends from the Reykjavík music scene – Þorvaldur Gröndal, Shahzad Ismaily, Davíð Þór Jónsson, Ólafur Jónsson, Ragnar Kjartansson, Kjartan Sveinsson, Gyða Valtýsdóttir and Kristín Anna Valtýsdóttir, with Richard Aldrich and the Rokeby Choir – perform the song in a variety of settings in the many Rokeby rooms. With the mansions inhabitants providing backing vocals and cannon fires onto the picturesque porch. Each unique part focuses on a new room and a different musician.

Music recorded by Christopher McDonald. Mixed and mastered by Christopher McDonald and Kjartan Sveinsson. Photos by Elisabet Davidsdottir. Cut by Noel Summerville at 3345 Mastering. Art direction by Ragnar Helgi Olafsson. Released by Bel-Air Glamour Records / The Vinyl Factory, 2016.