Romantic Works

£ 20.00

In stock

* Keaton Henson’s original album ‘Romantic Works’ plus 3 bonus tracks.
* 180-gram heavyweight vinyl
* Full colour sleeve
* Artwork by Keaton Henson

The  unexpectedness surrounding the Romantic Works release has only  fortified Keaton’s reputation as a mysterious, unpredictable artist.  It’s a remarkable album that grew organically – Keaton found himself  writing instrumental pieces and, despite his musical illiteracy, taught  himself the art of orchestration and arrangement. Taking inspiration  from the repetitive simplicity of Arvo Pärt, Phillip Glass and Henryk  Goreck and the instrumentation of Edward Elgar, the beautiful collection  articulates stories that Keaton could not translate into words.

Dubbed  “bedroom classical”, the album was recorded entirely in Keaton’s small  flat in London, with Keaton teaching himself the art of orchestration  and arrangement (despite not being able to read or write music), and  collaborating with close friend and guildhall virtuoso cellist Ren Ford.  Throughout, the idea was to make “classical” music without pretence or  ornate concept; to articulate the stories even Keaton struggled to put  into words through instrumental music instead.

As an album,  ‘Romantic Works’ is a bold and idiosyncratic crossover of indie and  classical, and another twist in the career of this unpredictable young  singer, songwriter, visual artist and poet.

Side A
1. Preface
2. Elevator Song
3. Healah Dancing
4. Field
5. Josella

Side B
6. Petrichor
7. Earnestly Yours
8. Nearly Curtains
9. Emissary
10. La Naissance (bonus track)
11. Elevator Song – Ulrich Schnauss remix (bonus track)