Visible Cloaks collaborate with Yoshio Ojima and Satsuki Shibano for RVNG’s FRKWYS series





Japanese avant-garde takes a trip to Oregon.

Electronic duo Visible Cloaks have teamed up with Japanese avant-garde artists Yoshio Ojima and Satsuki Shibano for serenitatem, the latest instalment of RVNG Intl’s collaboration series FRKWYS.

Read more: Composing for space: The meticulous design of Japanese environmental sounds

Yoshio Ojima began his career as a composer of ambient and environmental music, collaborating frequently with pianist Satsuki Shibano, best known for her interpretations of Erik Satie and Claude Debussy.

The creative process began remotely, with Visible Cloaks sending music made on tour to Ojima, which provided the groundwork for recording sessions that took place in Sonduno Studios, Tokyo in 2017.

The quartet used MIDI randomisation, as well as a generative music software called Wotja to expand the compositions that now form the album. “The aim was to make a work that was not specifically ambient (or environmental)”, says Doran, “but something more multi-hued, weaving these deconstructive concepts into an album that has a deeper architecture underpinning it.”

Pre-order a copy of serenitatem here ahead of its 15th April release, watch the video for ‘Stratum’ and check out the track list below.


1. Toi
2. Anata
3. You
4. Atelier
5. S’Amours ne fait par sa grace adoucir (Ballade 1)
6. Lapis Lazuli
7. Stratum
8. Canzona per sonare no.4
9. Toi (Tokyo Mix)

Photo by Miyu Terasawa.