Trevor Jackson compiles second Metal Dance compilation for Strut Records

Trevor Jackson compiles second Metal Dance compilation for Strut Records




Metal Dance 2 to get even deeper into EBM, industrial and new wave classics and rarities, with compilation due out in August.

Increasing Strut’s stake in the obscurer corners of new wave following the news of their Italian electronic music compilation, Trevor Jackson has spoken to Resident Advisor about the follow up to his hugely popular 2012 collection Metal Dance.

Expanding the bracket to include recordings made between 1979 and 1988 (rather than just 80-88), Jackson has pulled together tracks from the UK, Europe, Japan and the Middle East, which he says are somewhat “darker” than the first record, but serve the same purpose: “to remind the older listener of tracks they loved or might’ve forgotten, and hopefully educate and entertain younger ones.”

Featuring Chris & Cosey, Ministry, Liaisons Dangereuses, Conrad Schnitzler and many more, Jackson said that he’s “tried to find a good balance of anthem and obscurities, labels, artists and producers that each play a part in the early development of electronic dance music”, even editing Rusty Egans’ “The Twilight Zone” himself. [via RA]

The compilation, which took over a year to curate, will be released on Strut Records on 19th August 2013. Listen to Godley & Creme’s “Babies” from the comp below:


01. Tuxedomoon – 59 To 1
02. Logic System – Unit
03. Psyche – The Saint Became A Lush
04. Skinny Puppy – Deadlines (400 Blows Remix)
05. Propaganda – (The Echo Of) Frozen Faces
06. Visage – Der Amboss (Instrumental)
07. Rusty Egan – The Twilight Zone (Trevor Jackson Edit)
08. Material – Secret Life
09. Rene Bandaly Family – Tanki Tanki (Rabih Beaini Edit)
10. Experimental Products – Work That Beat
11. Crash Course In Science – Jump Over Barrels
12. Liaisons Dangereuses – Etre Assis Ou Danset
13. Esplendor Geometrico – Necrosis En La Poya

01. Ministry – Over The Shoulder (12-inch Version)
02. Test Dept – The Unacceptable Face Of Freedom: Face 3
03. Mile High Club – Walking Backwards
04. CHBB – Ima Iki-Mashoo
05. Front 242 – Body 2 Body (2trax)
06. Vice Versa – Riot Squad
07. Chris & Cosey – Driving Blind
08. Doris Norton – Personal Computer
09. Plus Instruments – Vom Ertrunkenen Mädchen
10. Conrad Schnitzler – Das Tier
11. Neon – Lobotomy
12. Arthur Brown And Craig Leon – The Conversation
13. Haruomi Hosono – Platonic
14. Godley & Creme – Babies

Comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for The Cut

Get new release info, tech guides, artist features and more.