Theaster Gates & The Black Monks release Amalgam double album on vinyl





Chicago-based artist Theaster Gates is releasing a new album called Amalgam via Black Madonna Press and The Vinyl Factory. Comprising the soundtrack to his 2019 film, The Dance of Malaga, the 11-track album was recorded with long-time musical collaborators The Black Monks of Mississippi, and produced by James William Blades.

Theaster Gates & The Black Monks


Black Madonna Press / The Vinyl Factory

Featuring the choreography of acclaimed American dancer Kyle Abraham, The Dance of Malaga premiered as part of Gates’ Amalgam exhibition at Palais De Tokyo in Paris earlier this year, which explored the interweaving issues of race, territory, migration and inequality in the United States. Amalgam will be presented at Tate Liverpool later this year.

Pressed on double LP and housed in a gatefold sleeve featuring artwork stills and installation shots, Amalgam follows the release of Gates and the Black Monks’ Furthermore and Black Madonna EPs in collaboration with The Vinyl Factory.

Head here to order a copy and check out the artwork and tracklist below.


A1. Across The Water
A2. Kiss Me Before I Set Sail
A3. Water Seduce
B1. Born To Die
B2. Walk With Me
C1. If You Can Remember
C2. My Love’s So Far From Me
C3. Conversations
D1. The Perimeter Of Yes
D2. Tree Echoes
D3. Water All Around