The Pop Group to release new album Honeymoon On Mars on vinyl





Originally posted on FACT.

“A hypersonic journey into a dystopian future full of alien encounters and sci-fi lullabies.”

The Pop Group have announced details of new album Honeymoon On Mars, which will be released via Freaks R Us on October 28.

Produced by Dennis Bovell, who worked on the band’s seminal debut 1979 album Y, along with Public Enemy producer Hank Shocklee, Pop Group founder Mark Stewart has called the record “a stand against manufactured hate” and “a hypersonic journey into a dystopian future full of alien encounters and sci-fi lullabies.”

Stewart describes working with Bovell and Shocklee as “a double fantasy…We’re in awe as Dennis, the Captain Kirk of dub is taking us on a hyper sound voyage into the future, and Hank, as always tears up the rules totally upholding our faith in the absolute value of noise. We’ve gone completely off the map,” he says.

The Bristol post-punk innovators formed in 1977, taking in punk, as well as free jazz, dub, funk and avant-garde elements. They released two albums, Y and in 1980, their second studio album, For How Much Longer Do We Tolerate Mass Murder?, before disbanding in 1981.

Since reforming at ATP Festival in 2010, the band have released a raft of records, including 2014’s re-issue of We Are Time and an archival collection of previously unreleased material called Cabinet of Curiosities.

This new album is the follow-up to their 2015 LP Citizen Zombie, which was the Pop Group’s first studio album in 35 years. The four-piece will embark on a European tour in November, kicking off with a show at Ramsgate Music Hall on November 14. Check the band’s website for a full list of tour dates.

Click here to check out the various pre-order bundles.


01. ‘Instant Halo’
02. ‘City Of Eyes’
03. ‘Michael 13’
04. ‘War Inc.’
05. ‘Pure Ones’
06. ‘Little Town’
07. ‘Days Like These’
08. ‘Zipperface’
09. ‘Heaven?’
10. ‘Burn Your Flag’