Studio One rocksteady and reggae tracks collected in new Soul Jazz compilation





Featuring Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry & The Gaylads, Alton Ellis, Jackie Mittoo, Sound Dimension, and more.

A new compilation of Studio One rocksteady and reggae — called Rocksteady Got Soul — is being released via Soul Jazz this March.

Focusing on Studio One’s output during the late 1960s to early 1970s, the compilation collects classic tunes alongside gems and rarities.

Rocksteady Got Soul features 18-tracks, from artists including The Heptones, Alton Ellis, Jackie Mittoo, Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry & The Gaylads, The Ethiopians, Sound Dimension, and The Viceroys.

Rocksteady Got Soul follows Soul Jazz’ Cuba: Music and Revolution: Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments in Latin Music 1975-85 Vol. 1 compilation.

Pre-order Rocksteady Got Soul here in advance of its 5th March release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Alton Ellis – It’s True
2. The Heptones – You Turned Away
3. The Gladiators – Mr Sweet
4. The Jail Breakers – Work It Up
5. Lee Perry & The Gaylads – Run Rudie Run
6. The Heptones – Young Generation
7. Jackie Mittoo – Good Feeling
8. C. Marshall – I Need Your Loving
9. Alton Ellis – I’ll Be Waiting
10. The Clarendonians – The Tables Gonna Turn
11. Ken Parker – When You’re Gone
12. Sound Dimension – Traveling Home
13. Errol Dunkley – Get Up Now
14. John Holt – My Heart Is Gone
15. Freedom Singers and Larry Marshall – Monkey Man
16. The Ethiopians – Let The Light Shine
17. Im and David – Money Maker
18. The Viceroys – Lose and Gain

Photo: Ted Bafaloukos