Studio One launches massive reissue series with The Wailers’ debut album

Studio One launches massive reissue series with The Wailers’ debut album




Essential reggae on vinyl.

Yep Roc Music Group is to raid and reissue the archives of Studio One, the seminal record label founded by famed producer Clement ‘Coxsone’ Dodd. The massive project will feature over 150 titles.

Kicking off the series is The Wailers’ debut album The Wailing Wailers, which features Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Bunny Wailer and more in a tight collection of Coxsone’s finest productions. The album has been out of print on vinyl for decades.

Due on May 27th, the reissue will feature the original artwork, which frames a young Bob Marley, centre, between Livingston on the left and Tosh on the right.

Following The Wailers is a reissue of the ultra-rare Money Maker LP, which features Studio One rhythms from The Heptones, Burning Spear, The Wailing Souls and more. Money Maker drops on August 5.

Future releases this year include the Studio One Radio Show taken from two 1970s hosted by Winston “The Whip” Williams, plus a Don Drummond collection compiled by Mr. Dodd himself before his death in 2004. There will also be a box set celebrating the label’s 60th anniversary.

“We are excited for the opportunity to re launch the Studio One brand and thankful for the trust that Carol (Dodd) and her team has afforded us,” said Yep Roc’s Billy Maupin in the press release. “Through reissues of classic titles as well as new collections, we want our releases to reflect the history and legacy of Jamaica’s most iconic label. Here’s to the next 60 years!”

The Wailing Wailers tracklist
01 Put It On
02 I Need You
03 Lonesome Feeling
04 What’s New Pussycat
05 One Love
06 When The Well Runs Dry
07 Ten Commandments of Love
08 Rude Boy
09 It Hurts To Be Alone
10 Love and Affection
11 I’m Still Waiting
12 Simmer Down

Comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for The Cut

Get new release info, tech guides, artist features and more.