Studio Ghibli’s Princess Mononoke score gets first vinyl release





From legendary composer Joe Hisaishi.

Joe Hisaishi’s compositions for the Studio Ghibli film Princess Mononoke are being released on vinyl for the first time, this July.

Watch next: Studio Ghibli composer Joe Hisaishi performs film scores live in Tokyo during 2003

Originally released in 1997, Princess Mononoke explored environmental issues through an epic feud between forest gods and a mining community.

A year after Princess Mononoke’s release, Hisaishi revisited the soundtrack to perform it as a symphonic suite with the Czech philharmonic orchestra, the recordings of which are now making their vinyl debut as Princess Mononoke (Symphonic Suite).

Making its vinyl debut, the soundtrack was recorded with the Tokyo City Philharmonic Orchestra, and features the main theme song with vocals by Yoshikazu Mera.

Alongside these two versions, Studio Ghibli is also releasing the Image Album, which was recorded before the official soundtrack, and based on legendary director Hayao Miyazaki’s notes.

(An “image album” is an LP created specifically for Japanese animations, to give a sense of characters’ personalities.)

All three versions will be released on the 24th July.

Head here to pre-order the soundtrack, here to pre-order Symphonic Suite, and here to pre-order Image Album; check out the artwork and tracklist below.



1. The Legend of Ashitaka
2. The Demon God
3. Departure -To the West-
4. Demon Power
5. The Land of the Impure
6. The Encounter
7. Kodamas
8. The Forest of the God
9. Evening at the Fireworks
10. The Demon God II -The Lost Mountain-


1. Lady Eboshi
2. The Tatara Woman Work Song
3. The Furies
4. The Young Man from the East
5. Requiem
6. Will to Live
7. San and Ashitaka in the Forest of the Deer God
8. Princess Mononoke Theme Song (Instrumental Version)
9. Requiem II


1. Princess Mononoke Theme Song (Vocal)
2. Battle Drums
3. Battle in Front of the Ironworks
4. Demon Power II
5. Requiem III
6. Retreat
7. The Demon God III


1. Adagio of Life and Death
2. The World of the Dead
3. The World of the Dead II
4. Adagio of Life and Death II
5. Ashitaka and San
6. Princess Mononoke Theme Song (Vocal Ending)
7. The Legend of Ashitaka (Ending)

Symphonic Suite


1. 1st movement The Legend of Ashitaka
2. 2nd movement TA TA RI GAMI (The Demon God)
3. 3rd movement The Journey to the West
4. 4th movement Mononoke Hime


5. 5th movement The Forest of the Deer God
6. 6th movement Requiem – The Demon Power
7. 7th movement The World of the Dead – Adagio of Life and Death
8. 8th movement Ashitaka and San

Image Album


1. The Legend of Ashitaka
2. The Cursed God
3. The Lost People
4. Princess Mononoke
5. Yakkle


1. The Forest of the Shishi God
2. Lady Eboshi
3. The Kodamas
4. The Dog God Moro
5. Ashitaka and San