Sounds of seventies Nigeria collected in 9xLP Strut box set



Including an accompanying book and the Nigeria 70 audio documentary.

Strut is releasing its complete Nigeria 70 series in a new 9xLP offering, this January.

Nigeria 70 explores the way in which domestic artists mixed highlife and traditional instrumentals with soul, funk, jazz, Afrobeat and juju styles.

Strut’s box set includes all four compilations released between 2001-2019, showcasing music from Lagos during the 1970s, with tracks by Sir Victor Uwaifo, Segun Bucknor, Peter King, Joni Haastrup, King Sunny Ade, Lijadu Sisters and more.

Nigeria 70 also features a 24-page book with interviews and archival photos, as well as 7×12″ cards with original sleeve artwork.

Head here for more info in advance of the 4th January release, and check out a selection of archival images below.