Listen to two hours of the best new music on our latest radio show

Listen to two hours of the best new music on our latest radio show




Pete from On The Corner drops in.

While we do our best to keep on top of all the new releases and reissues in our weekly top new records list, sometimes you just need a little more space to let the music breathe. Continuing our monthly residency at Soho Radio, you can listen to the show in full below.

For this month’s show we welcomed Pete Buckenham, the man behind flowering London-based worldwide label On The Corner for the first hour for an education in global groove. On the cutting edge where London’s burgeoning young jazz scene meets the international digging culture of selectors like Gilles Peterson and Floating Points, the label has grown rapidly in the last eighteen months, putting out a string of fantastic 12″s and LPs with a family vibe from the likes of Collocutor, Penya and Magnus P.I.

His latest project is a collaboration between Santuri and Soundthread, which features a selection of electronic remixes of acoustic recordings with the Ugandan Mugwisa International Xylophone Group, which you can read about in more detail on the label’s Bandcamp page.

For the second hour it’s business as usual as we cycle through a range of the best new music and reissues on vinyl, from Heavenley Sweetness’ new zouk compilation Digital Zandoli to Warp’s very own mystic Gonjasufi. Listen in below.


Collocutor – Archaic Morning (On the Corner)
Dele Sosimi – E go Betta (Nostalgia 77 and Prince Fatty dub LP) (Wah Wah 45s)
Collocutor – Agama (Contours Remix) (On the Corner)
Magnus P.I – Search it out (On the Corner)
Penya – Acelere (Jose Marquez Remix) (On the Corner)
Mugwisa International Xylophone Group – Jinja Pearls (Sam Jones Construct) (On the Corner)
Soccer 96 – The Swamp (Slowfoot)
Lasgidi – Obadice & Vivian Paul-Foh feat Keziah Jones (On the corner)
LV – Pecos Bounce
Collocutor – Disappearance (On the Corner)
Puzzle Pulsion – Mwoin Ka Songe (heavenly Sweetness)
J Dilla – Love Jones (BBE)
J Dilla – Love (BBE)
J Dilla – So Far To Go (BBE)
TJ – Love Flower (Strata / BBE)
Air – Baby I Don’t Know Where Love (Be With Records)
Shabaka & the Ancestors – Natty (Brownswood)
Arthur Verocai – Na Boca Do Sol (Mr Bongo)
Banda Black Rio – Metalúrgica (Mr Bongo)
Angelo Badalamenti – Laura Palmer’s Theme (Death Waltz / Mondo)
Gonjasufi – Maniac Depressant (Warp)
The Spirit Of Memphis Quartet -If You Make A Start To Heaven (Unknown)
The Spirit Of Love – The Power Of Your Love (Athens Of the North)

Comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for The Cut

Get new release info, tech guides, artist features and more.