Rush Hour collects super rare Surinamese boogie on new compilation

Rush Hour collects super rare Surinamese boogie on new compilation




The collection documents the elusive Surinamese funk scene.

Rush Hour Music has launched a new compilation series “inspired from all points of the compass”, compiled by friends of the label.

Out first is the Surinam Funk Force compilation, a ten-track collection of highly sought-after Surinamese funk and boogie cuts from the ’70s and ’80s. The volume follows up 2012’s Surinam! Boogie & Disco Funk From The Surinamese Dance Floors 76′ – 83′, released on sister label Kindred Spirits. In 2014 Rush Hour reissued Trying To Survive, a 1983 LP by eccentric Surinamese character Sumy, who reappears on this new comp.

Curated by Rush Hour founder Antal Heitlager and Thomas Gesthuizen, em>Surinam Funk Force is officially the second edition in the new series but will be released first this summer.

The ‘first’ release sees party-starter Hunee select the range of dancefloor cuts that fill his sets, with tracks from the ’70s through to present day. Spanning African music, house and techno, there’s no tracklist yet but Rush Hour has confirmed that Boncana Maiga, Zogo, Black Beat Niks, Kenny Larkin and Mappa Mundi all feature. Titled Hunchin All Night, the collection lands post-summer 2016.

EPSON scanner image

EPSON scanner image

Listen to samples and pre-order Surinam Funk Force from Rush Hour. Find the tracklist below.

Surinam Funk Force Tracklist
01. Steve Watson – Born To Boogie
02. Jam Band 80 – Jammin’
03. Sonny Khoeblal – Craziest
04. Errol De La Fuente – Happiness
05. Sumy – The Funky “G” (Only Comes At Night)
06. Explosion – Wakka Mang
07. Eddie Tailor – Love Dance
08. Ronald Snijders – Kaseko Attack
09. Astaria – Jamasa Roro
10. Sound Track Orchestra and Silvy – Tirsa Song

Comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for The Cut

Get new release info, tech guides, artist features and more.