Rush Hour to release 6LP retrospective of Ron Trent’s Prescription label





Originally published on FACT.

The Prescription: Word, Sound & Power boxset is due out in January.

Rush Hour commits another slice of house history to vinyl with a 6LP anthology of Prescription – the legendary Chicago-based label founded by Ron Trent and Chez Damier in the early ‘90s.

Out January 2017, Word, Sound & Power covers two decades of music and contains a clutch of unreleased tracks, including ‘Energy,’ ‘Black Magic Woman’ (with vocalist Harry Dennis) and ‘History,’ as well as a number of songs that have been out of print for years.

Ron Trent launched Prescription with Chez Damier in 1993 and released around 20 singles over a four-year span. The pair parted ways in 1996, leaving Trent to run the label himself – its last release was a CD compilation in 2011.

“We had the idea to take a certain level of fidelity and bring that fidelity to what people call tracks – tracks being drum-orientated Chicago rhythm tracks with a minimalistic melody,” explains Trent on Prescription’s origin story. “We were playing with that idea, expounding a point of that minimalistic aspect and making it more complex.” Watch a trailer on the retrospective and see the full tracklisting below.

This is the latest in a long line of retrospective projects from Rush Hour – recent years have seen Virgo Four, Soichi Terada and the Burrell Brothers all get some attention.

You can pre-order the box set here.


A1 ‘Morning Factory’
A2 ‘Prescription’

B1 ‘Don’t try it’
B2 ‘Seduction’

C1 ‘Pop, Dip & Spin’
C2 ‘Energy’

D1 ‘Sometimes I feel like’
D2 ‘Angora’

E1 ‘I Feel Rhythm’
E2 ‘Soul Samba Express’

F1 ‘Life For Livin’
F2 ‘Space Riddims’

G1 ‘Foot Therapy’
G2 ‘On My Mind’

H1 ‘Morning Fever’
H2 ‘Love Is The Message’