Rush Hour launches vinyl series for Japanese rarities





Originally published on FACT

The series first collects boogie tracks from the ‘70s and ‘80s on 7″ format.

Amsterdam’s Rush Hour is launching a vinyl-only series focusing on rare Japanese music.

As RA reports, the first three records will be 7″ boogie reissues limited to 800 copies each, collecting material from Ryo Kawasaki, Eri Ohno and Ruriko Ohgami.

Kawasaki’s Little One collects tracks from 1979’s Mirror Of My Mind, while Ohno’s Skyfire features tracks from her 1981 album Good Question and 1980’s Eri. Ohgami’s Fuwari Fuwa Fuwa contains music from 1978’s Typhoon Lady.

The Japan-centric series follows Sounds From the Far East, the label’s recent archival compilation of music from Tokyo house producer Soichi Terada.

The records are released on May 2, and are currently available for pre-order at the Rush Hour website.


Eri Ohno – Skyfire
01. Skyfire
02. Live Hard, Live Free

Ryo Kawasaki – Little One
01. Little One
02. Trinkets & Things

Ruriko Ohgami – Fuwari Fuwa Fuwa
01. Fuwari Fuwa Fuwa
02. Good Bye, Baby Love