Erased Tapes releasing Penguin Cafe Orchestra’s Union Cafe on vinyl for the first time





Eno and Kraftwerk-loved orchestrals.

Union Cafe, the final studio album from English composer and multi-instrumentalist Simon Jeffes’ Penguin Cafe Orchestra, is being released on vinyl for the first time, by Erased Tapes this December.

Read more: 15 artists pick their favourite Brian Eno records

Jeffes founded Penguin Cafe Orchestra in 1972, inspired by vivid, accidental poisoning-induced, dream tripping.

Helmed by Jeffes – who recorded many of the instrumentals on the group’s studio albums – PCO released their debut LP on Brian Eno’s Obscure Records label in 1976, before playing their first major concert opening for Kraftwerk at London’s Roundhouse later that year.

Union Cafe was the last studio album recorded by the original Penguin Cafe Orchestra and marked a move towards a definitive English pastoral sound combined with larger string arrangements set against longer solo piano pieces,” shares Simon’s son Arthur.

The album’s release commemorates the 20th anniversary of Simon’s passing. Arthur’s group Penguin Cafe will also be performing Union Cafe in full, 11th December at London’s Union Chapel.

Pre-order a copy here ahead of its 1st December release, check out the track list and listen to single ‘Nothing Really Blue’ below.


1. Scherzo And Trio
2. Lifeboat (Lovers Rock)
3. Nothing Really Blue
4. Cage Dead
5. Vega
6. Yodel 3
7. Organum
8. Another One From Porlock
9. Thorn Tree Wind
10. Silver Star Of Bologna
11. Discover America
12. Pythagoras On The Line
13. Kora Kora
14. Lie Back And Think Of England
15. Red Shorts
16. Passing Through