DUKE crafts “hip-hop singeli” on new album for Nyege Nyege Tapes



Tanzanian advert samples and field recordings mixed with his original productions.

Tanzanian producer DUKE will debut on Nyege Nyege Tapes with a new album, Uingizaji Hewa, this March.

Hailing from Pamoja Records, the Dar Es Salaam-based studio that is situated nearby to the now legendary Sisso Studios, DUKE is a mainstay of the underground singeli scene, working closing with MCs such as MCZO, Dogo Lizzi, Pirato MC and Kashiwashi.

The album is made up of the producer’s unique breakneck constructions, which utilise everything from Tanzanian advertising jingles to ambient sounds from around DUKE’s studio, as well as slower tracks the producer describes as “hip-hop singeli”.

Pre-order a copy of Uingizaji Hewa here ahead of its 8th March release, check out the cover art and track list below.


1. Naona Iaaah feat MCZO & Don Tach
2. SING4444444
3. Beat Mixa Duke
4. duke 4
5. Duke Bit Puyo
6. M Lap feat Dogo Lizzi
7. Duke
8. Kula Kihindi
9. Kasema Kihindi

Latest Articles