Malian M’berra Ensemble collaborates with Khalab on new LP, M’berra



Giving voice to refugees through music.

Malian collective M’berra Ensemble and Italian electronic producer Khalab are releasing a new album, called M’berra, via Real World this April.

The M’berra Ensemble is a collective of musicians from the M’berra Refugee Camp in southeast Mauritani.

The album was recorded in both solo and group recording sessions, with Khalab later adding electronics to these sessions.

M’berra is accompanied by a 32-page booklet documenting the making of the LP, as well as text about the project itself.

Pre-order M’berra here in advance of its 23 April release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Desert Storm
2. The Western Guys
3. Curfew
4. The Griot Speaks
5. We Are M’berra
6. Skit In My Heart
7. Reste A L’Ombre
8. Desert Storm pt.2
9. Moulan Shakur
10. Docu-fiction
11. Dancing in a Desert Moon
12. Skit Guit