Loleatta Holloway’s ’70s southern soul LP Cry To Me reissued





Featuring songs written by Curtis Mayfield, Jo Armstead and Sam Dees – with “chiming guitars, swirling strings, and gospel-tinged backing vocals.”

Loleatta Holloway’s 1975 album Cry To Me is being reissued on vinyl for the first time, via Tidal Waves Music this June.

Read more: Loleatta Holloway, Sylvester and our favourite disco 12″s

After starting her career as a gospel singer, Holloway met her future producer and manager Floyd Smith during the early ’70s, signing to Atlanta-based soul label Aware shortly afterward.

Holloway recorded her self-titled debut album Loleatta in 1973, followed by Cry to Me in 1975.

Produced by Smith, Cry To Me features tracks written by Curtis Mayfield, Sam Dees and Jo Armstead.

Tidal Waves’ release of Cry To Me marks the album’s first official vinyl reissue.

Head here to pre-order a copy in advance of Cry To Me’s 26th June release, and check out the tracklist below.


1. Cry To Me
2. I Know Where You’re Coming From
3. The Show Must Go On
4. The World Don’t Owe You Nothing
5. Just Be True To Me
6. Something About The Way I Feel
7. I’ll Be Gone
8. I Can’t Help Myself
9. Casanova
10. Help Me My Lord