Listen to our 2-hour Best of 2016 radio show

Listen to our 2-hour Best of 2016 radio show



In News

The year’s best new music on vinyl.

Having rounded up our favourite soundtracks, record sleeves, reissues, 7″s, 12″s and LPs in the last week, we headed over to Soho radio with a bag full of records to try and play through as many as we possibly could (within reason) in just 2 hours.

The result is this 30-track set charting the year’s biggest hitters and under-the-radar gems. Tune in below:


A Tribe Called Quest – The Space Program (Epic)
Stranger Things – Theme (Invada)
Sad City – Steady Jam (Meda Fury / Emotional Response)
Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – First Flight (Western Vinyl)
Dedekind Cut – Conversations with Angels (ft. DJ Shadow & Chino Amobi) (NON)
Radiohead – Daydreaming (XL)
Yves Tumor – The Feeling When You Walk Away (PAN)
Nicolas Jaar – No (Other People)
Seekersinternational – IfUWantMe (Bokeh Versions)
Demdike Stare – Overstaying (Modern Love)
Massive Attack – Ritual Spirit (Virgin / VF)
David Bowie – I Can’t Give Everything Away (ISO)
Badbadnotgood – Time Moves Slow (Innovative Leisure)
Tall Black Guy – I Will Never Know (First Word)
KING – The Story (WE ARE KING)
Jenny Hval – Feminine Vampire (Sacred Bones)
DD Dumbo – Walrus (4AD)
Soft Hair – The Lying Has To Stop (Weird World)
Peter Zummo – The Tape Is Chill (Optimo)
Kelsey Lu – Morning After Coffee (True Panther)
Dexter Story & Kamasi Washington – Wejene Aola (Soundway)
Moses Boyd – Rye Lane Shuffle (Exodus)
Kaytranada – Lite Spots (XL)
Motion Graphics – Brass Mechanics (Future Times)
Abra – Crybaby (True Panther)
Frank Ocean – Pink & White (Self-released/XL)
Susso – Bani (Soundway)
Danny Brown – Tell Me What I Don’t Know (Warp)
Solange – Cranes In the Sky (Columbia)
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Skeleton Tree (Bad Seed Ltd)

Comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for The Cut

Get new release info, tech guides, artist features and more.