Julien Dyne draws on afro-beat and soulful house for new album Teal on Soundway Records



A new solo album from the Theo Parrish and Steve Spacek collaborator.

Soundway Records has announced the release of Julien Dyne’s new album Teal, a joyful exploration of afro-influenced percussive house and electronic soul.

Dyne, whose CV includes collaborations with the likes of Theo Parrish, Steve Spacek, Andreya Triana and Lord Echo, has been tipped by Gilles Peterson and Moodymann among others, and strikes a more up-tempo tone with Teal, which you can sample on first single ‘Copernicus’ below:

The record features a range of artists including fellow New Zealander Mara TK, long term band-mate Ladi6, Fat Freddy’s Drop’s trumpeter Toby Laing, Australian vocalist Tim Guy and jazz luminaries Jonathan Crayford and John Bell.

Julien Dyne’s Teal will be released on 19th October. Click here to pre-order a copy and check out the artwork below.


A1. Design
A2. YouYou
B1. Hours
B2. Like Glue
B3. P.F Mogul
C1. Copernicus
C2. What You Say
C3. Hot Shoe
D1. Steady
D2. Teal
D3. Follow You Round

Photo: Garth Badger

Latest Articles