Johnny Jewel releasing surprise new album Themes For Television on “cherry pie” 2xLP





Featuring outtakes from an album used in Twin Peaks: The Return.

Johnny Jewel has shared a surprise new album called Themes For Television.

The 21-track LP is described by Jewel in the press release as “an epic from the cutting room floor.”

Jewel sent Twin Peaks director David Lynch around six hours of music intended for the show, but although ‘Windswept’ was featured in episode 5, the majority of the material wasn’t used. However, Jewel’s band Chromatics did end up performing their 2015 track ‘Shadow’ on the Twin Peaks season three premiere.

“It’s been a year since Chromatics performed at the Roadhouse,” says Jewel. “With disintegrated memory through the haze of television snow, I wanted to share a glimpse behind the red curtain.”

You can pre-order a copy here ahead of its 29th June release via Italians Do It Better, and stream the album today:

Jewel has also shared a video for ‘Red Door’, which you can check out below along with the track list.

Themes For Televison tracklist

1. Requiem
2. Windswept (Minimal)
3. Loveless
4. Saturday (Evening)
5. Red Curtains
6. Deja Vu
7. Lipstick
8. Tomorrow Is Yesterday
9. Shadow (Opening Titles)
10. Self Portrait
11. Black Room
12. Spiral Staircase
13. Embers
14. Sleepless
15. Nightmare
16. Red Door
17. Waking Up
18. Caffeine
19. Purgatory
20. Breathless
21. Infinity Room