Stones Throw releases pianist and composer John Carroll Kirby’s jazz-inflected new album





Kirby has worked with Solange, Frank Ocean and more in recent years.

Pianist and composer John Carroll Kirby is releasing a new album, titled My Garden, this April via Stones Throw.

Writing, recording and producing My Garden himself, Kirby looked to the spiritual teaching of Sri Dharma Mittra for opening track ‘Blueberry Beads’, incorporating flute samples and piano compositions recorded with iPhone voice memos.

Kirby recently worked with Solange on When I Get Home one of our favourite albums of 2019 – as well as working with the likes of Bat For Lashes and Frank Ocean.

My Garden follows Stones Throw’s release of Rejoicer’s Spiritual Sleaze LP this February.

Head here for more info in advance of My Garden’s 24th April release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Blueberry Beads
2. By The Sea
3. Night Croc
4. Arroyo Seco
5. Son Of Pucabufeo
6. San Nicolas Island
7. Humid Mood
8. Lay You Down
9. Wind

Photo by: Eddie Chacon