Japanese producer and DJ Powder helms first instalment of new Beats In Space mix series



Watch its trippy, technicolour Tokyo anime video for ‘New Tribe’.

Tim Sweeney’s Beats in Space Records is launching a new mix series this February, with Tokyo-based producer and DJ Powder, aka Momoko “Moko” Goto, tapped for its first edition.

The inaugural Powder in Space mix features two new and exclusive tracks by Moko – ‘New Tribe’ and ‘Gift’ – alongside sixteen tunes by artists including Daphne, Lord of the Isles and Tornado Wallace.

For Powder in Space’s first single ‘New Tribe’, “Moko worked with AC-bu, the animation studio of Tooru Adachi and Shunsuke Itakura, to create a biographical video of her evolution from 9 am-to-5 pm desk worker in Tokyo to 9 pm-to-5 am acclaimed DJ around the world,” shares BiS.

A 4-track vinyl sampler will also be available alongside the digital mix/unmixed forms, featuring ‘New Tribe’ and ‘Gift’ on the A-side, with Daphne’s ‘When You Love Someone (Groove Instrumental)’ and Samo DJ & The Hidden Operator’s ‘Захват Сзади Rox’ on the reverse.

Powder in Space follows the launch of Moko’s Thinnergroove label, whose first record – 5ive’s Planet Be – was one of our favourite EPs of 2018.

Pre-order a copy of the vinyl sampler here and digital mix here ahead of their 15th February release, watch the video for ‘New Tribe’ above and check out the full track lists below.



Side A

A1. Powder – New Tribe
A2. Powder – Gift

Side B

B1. Daphne – When You Love Someone (Groove Instrumental)
B2. Samo DJ & The Hidden Operator – Захват Сзади Rox


1. Samo DJ & Hidden Operator – Захват Сзади Rox
2. Tornado Wallace – Open Door (Born Inna Tent Mix)
3. Acid Pauli – Release
4. Don’t DJ – Southern Shore
5. Daphne – When You Love Someone (Groove Instrumental)
6. Vedagor – Untitled II
7. Second Language – The Party (Bluntman Deejay’s Mould Meditation)
8. Tiago – Roy Brooks
9. Karamika – Ton 10
10. The Sun God – Ancient Echoes (Tribute To Larry Heard)
11. Powder – Gift
12. Vertigo Inc – The Water Margin
13. K-LINE – Saxopetu
14. Powder – New Tribe
15. Kettenkarussell – Just For A Second
16. Jules Etienne – Cuban Omelette
17. Lord Of The Isles – Your Smile
18. Cos/Mes – Forever

Photo by Yamila de Pico.