Japanese musician Phew’s 1981 post-punk meets synth debut reissued for the first time





Recorded at Conny Plank’s studio with Can members Holger Czukay and Jaki Liebezeit, plus Yoshitaka Gogo.

Multi-instrumentalist, vocalist and producer Phew aka Hiromi Moritani’s self-titled debut is being rereleased for the first time by Studio Mule.

Read more: An introduction to the genius of Conny Plank in 10 records

Moritani launched her career as a co-founder of Osaka avant-garde punk group Aunt Sally, before going solo as Phew.

She released her first single ‘Finale’/’Urahara’, produced Ryuichi Sakamoto on Pass Records in 1980.

Moritani recorded the Phew full length album at Conny Plank’s legendary studio, with the help of Can’s Holger Szukay and Jaki Liebezeit, as well as producer and Pass Records founder Yoshitaka Goto.

The Phew LP reissue also follows her 2017 albums Voice Hardcore and Light Sleep her first solo record in 20 years, on Mesh-Key.

Listen to clips from the album ahead of its 25th May release, and check out the track list below.


Side A

1. Closed
2. Signal
3. Doze
4. Dream

Side B

1. Mapping
2. Aqua
3. P-adic
4. Fragment
5. Circus