Japanese musician Naoko Sakata releasing new solo piano album



Incantatory keys.

Naoko Sakata is releasing a new album, called Dancing For Spirits, this March via Pomperipossa Records.

Speaking about the LP, the label shares: “it is the result of an experimental approach to music, where every single note follows the previous one without a determined principle other than that of absolute freedom.”

“When I sit in front of the piano, I, as a person, disappear,” explains Sakata. “My body becomes a conduit for expressing the music that I can hear in my head.”

“There are no obstacles to its realisation and I don’t follow rules on how to make it happen. It is at the same time something natural and highly spiritual, sacred and wild, something that lives in a moment in time and only in that, before disappearing forever .”

Pre-order Dancing For Spirits here in advance of its March 26th release, and check out the tracklist below.


1. Improvisation 1
2. Improvisation 2
3. Improvisation 3
4. Improvisation 4
5. Improvisation 5
6. Improvisation 6
7. Improvisation 7