James Holden releasing score for Chris Kelly’s documentary A Cambodian Spring



Listen to an ethereal excerpt from track ‘Solidarity Theme (Release)’ now.

James Holden will release his first ever film score, the soundtrack to Chris Kelly’s documentary A Cambodian Spring, this January.

A Cambodian Spring centres around a lakeside community in Phnomh Penh fighting to save their homes from destruction by developers.

Holden’s solo soundtrack is a departure from his more recent collaborative projects such as 2017’s The Animal Spirits and heavily features the Prophet-600 synthesiser that dominated Holden’s 2013 album The Inheritors. The score will be released on Holden’s own Border Community imprint.

The score also features a knackered Hammond organ that fell apart during the recording, the sounds of which can be heard on three-part composition ‘Disintegration Drone’.

Pre-order a copy of the A Cambodian Spring OST here ahead of its 25th January release. Check out the cover art, track list and a trailer for the film below.


1. Srey Pov’s Theme
2. Monk’s Theme Part I
3. Downturn Medley
4. Solidarity Theme (Villagers)
5. Monk’s Theme Part II
6. The Villagers
7. Disintegration Drone I
8. Solidarity Theme (Release)
9. Monk’s Theme Part III
10. Reprise
11. Disintegration Drone II (Torn Cone)
12. Disintegration Drone III (Death Rattle)
13. Self-Playing Schmaltz
14. Srey Pov’s Theme (End Credits)