Haruomi Hosono, Takahiko Ishikawa and Masataka Matsutoy’s The Aegean Sea reissued





A smooth jazz-fusion ode to the Mediterranean’s sparkling cyan waters.

Haruomi Hosono, Takahiko Ishikawa and Masataka Matsutoy’s 1979 album The Aegean Sea has been reissued on vinyl, via Great Tracks / Sony Japan.

Read more: The restless explorations of Haruomi Hosono

Paying homage to the Aegean sea, the trio recorded the album using folk guitars, mandolin, harp and strings, drawing on elements of traditional Greek music and jazz fusion.

Originally released in 1979 on CBS / Sony Japan, The Aegean Sea acted as the companion album to Hosono’s collaborative 1978 LP with Shigeru Suzuki and Tatsuro Yamashita, Pacific, which has also been recently reissued.

CBS / Sony Japan’s release of The Aegean Sea marks the album’s first return to vinyl since 1983.

Head here to purchase a copy of The Aegean Sea, and check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Side A

1. Aegean Fantasy
2. Atlantis
3. Reggae Aegean Woman
4. Mykonos Bride

Side B

1. Image
2. Rose in the Wave
3. Day Break
4. Aphrodite’s Mourning