Japanese hardcore band GISM’s 1983 LP Detestation reissued





“Churning metal-punk.”

Japanese hardcore band GISM’s 1983 album Detestation is being reissued, via Relapse Records this December.

Formed in Tokyo during 1981, by vocalist Shigehisa “Sakevi” Yokoyama, guitarist Randy Uchida, bassist Kannon “Cloudy” Masuo, and drummer Tohru “Monamour” Hiroshima, GISM drew on styles including punk, heavy metal, glam, thrash, and industrial.

Jay Bentley described Detestation as: “Churning metal-punk, or perhaps even speed-metal … the music is so intense and the vocals so ominous that even I am in a state of shock.”

Originally released in 1983, Relapse Records’ release of Detestation marks the albums first reissue.

Pre-order Detestation here in advance of its 4th December release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Endless Blockades For The Pussyfooter
2. Death Agonies And Screams
3. A.B.C. Weapons
4. Nightmare
5. Document One
6. (Tere Their) Syphilitic Vaginas To Pieces
7. Nuclear Armed Hogs
8. Anthem
9. Shoot To Kill (Bonus Track)
10. 原水禁 (Anti Atomic And Hydrogen Bombs) (Bonus Track)
11. Choke (Bonus Track)

Photo by Gin Satoh © BEAST ARTS International.