Ghostly announces new ambient compilation, Thousands of Eyes in the Dark





Celebrating 20 years of “slow-moving music.”

Ghostly International have enlisted the talents of Sarah Davachi, Space Afrika and more for a new compilation of “slow-moving-music”, Thousands of Eyes in the Dark, released this October.

Described by Ghostly as “calm, slow-moving music that straddles the synthetic/organic divide in surprising ways”, the label has used the acronym SMM to describe the more ambient and experimental acts on their roster.

Its 10-tracks span from modular synth practitioner Emily A. Sprague’s melancholic ‘Mesa’ to Orca’s soft vocals on ‘Rills’ and ends with bird and forest sounds in Japanese producer and field recorder Yosi Horikawa’s ‘Thalfang’.

The compilation is the third collection released by Ghostly to flesh out the SMM concept, following 2011’s SMM: Context and 2013’s SMM: Opiate.

Head here for more info in advance of its 18th of October release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. SK U Kno – Cut and Faze
2. Emily A. Sprague – Mesa
3. Grand River – This Was Us
4. Tadd Mullinix – Woman in the Dunes
5. Sarah Davachi – Sybil
6. Orcas – Rills
7. Khotin – Angel Epicenter
8. Saariselka – Shepherd Canyon
9. Space Afrika – Canu
10. Yosi Horikawa – Thalfang

Photo by: Ella Rinaldo