The original Ghost In The Shell soundtrack gets first official vinyl release





Including a limited edition collector’s release with a bonus 7″ and extras.

The new Scarlett Johannson remake of Ghost In The Shell does a good job of reminding us just how brilliant Mamoru Oshii’s 1995 original is.

In particular, the haunting score by Kenji Kawai is a masterstroke and will finally get an official vinyl outing thanks to the seemingly unstoppable We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want Records, who recently announced Midori Takada’s Through The Looking Glass.

“For its iconic main theme ‘Making of Cyborg’, Kawai had a choir chant a wedding song in ancient Japanese following Bulgarian folk harmonies,” says the label, “setting the standard for a timeless and unparalleled soundtrack that admirably echoes the film’s musings on the nature of humanity in a technologically advanced world.”

Heavily bootlegged in the past, the forthcoming release was cut from the original master reels at Emil Berliner Studios and will arrive in two versions: a limited collector’s edition and a standard LP. The special edition includes a bonus 7″ housed in sleeve with silver gilt printing, Japanese obi, and 24-page liner notes. Due in early June, stay tuned via WRWTFWW website.


A1 謡I – Making Of Cyborg

A2 Ghosthack
A3 Puppetmaster

A4 Virtual Crime
A5 謡II – Ghost City

B1 Access

B2 Nightstalker
B3 Floating Museum
B4 Ghostdive
B5 謡III – Reincarnation

Bonus 7”

A1 挿入歌 毎天見一見! (See You Everyday)