DJ Shadow surprise releases new EP The Mountain Has Fallen, featuring Nas and Danny Brown



Vinyl due in August.

DJ Shadow has released a new EP, The Mountain Has Fallen, via SoundCloud.

The four-track EP features previously released collaborations with Nas and Danny Brown, as well as a new collaboration with Oscar-winning composer Steven Price.

In a statement, Shadow described the EP as a “victory lap” following 2016’s The Mountain Will Fall. “Prior to the last album, I made a lot of high-risk moves behind the scenes, including walking away from a comfortable major-label deal,” he said.

“My thinking was, If The Mountain Will Fall LP ends up being successful, I’d be in a much more positive place in my career. With everything that’s happened since it came out, I feel like I bet on myself and won. So I guess you could say that this new EP is my version of a victory lap. It’s a celebration, and an extension of those confident steps.”

The Mountain Has Fallen is released digitally through Mass Appeal, with physical copies landing on August 18.

Latest Articles

Our privacy policy has changed - please go here to update your preferences.

Privacy Policy