Daniel Johnston’s Songs of Pain is being released on vinyl for the first time





Featuring eight extra unreleased tracks from the late lo-fi hero.

Songs of Pain, the debut album from the late Daniel Johnston, is being released on vinyl for the first time this March.

Originally recorded on homemade cassette in 1981 and later released as a standardised version by Stress Records in 1988, Songs of Pain was recorded between 1980 and 1981 in Johnston’s parents’ basement in West Virginia.

This remastered edition features eight additional unreleased tracks and a 12-page art and lyric book.

Pre-order Songs of Pain on aqua vinyl now, ahead of its March 10 release date.


Side A
1. Grievances
2. A Little Story
3. Joy Without Pleasure
4. Never Relaxed
5. Brainwash
6. Pothead
7. Wicked World

Side B
8. Lazy
9. I Save Cigarette Butts
10. Like A Monkey In a Zoo
11. Wicked Will
12. An Idiot’s End
13. Wild West Virginia

Side C
14. Since I Lost My Tooth
15. Urge
16. Living Life
17. Tuna Ketchup
18. Pre-marital Sex
19. Don’t Act Nice
20. Hate Song

Side D (Previously Unreleased Tracks)
21. Lead Belly Was an Outlaw
22. I Love You (I’d Like to Read You Some Poetry)
23. Why Don’t You Love Me True
24. I’m a Rambling Kinda Guy
25. Sleepy Lagoon
26. Natalie Queen of Weirton
27. Golly Gee
28. You Need a Reason