London jazz composer and bassist Daniel Casimir unveils debut LP, Boxed In





Featuring Nubya Garcia, Moses Boyd, Al Macsween, and James Copus.

Composer and bassist Daniel Casimir is releasing his debut solo album, Boxed In, via Jazz re:freshed this November.

Read more: Moses Boyd on the drummers that shape his sound

Across the album, Casimir combines modern jazz compositions with orchestral instrumentations and warm electronics to explore isolation and reflect on “navigating prescribed notions and the labels traditionally placed upon Black musicians.”

Boxed In features Nubya Garcia, Moses Boyd, James Copus, and more.

It marks Casimir’s debut solo album, following his collaborative LP with Tess Hirst, These Days.

Pre-order Boxed In here in advance of its 5th November release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Safe (Part 1)
2. Boxed In
3. New Waters
4. Your side
5. Safe (Part 2)
6. Get Even
7. Safe (Part 3)
8. Into The Truth
9. The Truth
10. Rewind The Time
11. Outro

Photo by: Daniel Devlin